110Percent

Background by Vickiepwnyou on Deviantart

Hi!

I'm Curtis; you'll occasionally see me go by the alias 110Percent on the internet. I am a frontend/backend developer currently attending university for a bachelor's degree in software engineering. Apart from development, I often enjoy playing video games, camping, anime and furiously configuring my desktop environment to the point of no return. I'm an avid GNU/Linux user (hooray for user control/privacy!), although I tend to use Windows 10 when playing games on my desktop PC. I'm also a big fan of Pokémon, with my favourite being Reuniclus, as can be clearly seen on the splash above.

Video Games

I love all sorts of video games from different genres, eras and publishers. I tend to kill my time in repetitive games like League of Legends, Counter-Strike, Smash Bros or Minecraft, although once in a while I tend to sink my attention into something with a nice story such as the Persona or Danganronpa series. I wouldn't call myself bad at video games by any stretch, but I tend to prioritize fun over skill (unless bragging rights are involved, in which case it's open season).

Software Development

Programming is tied with video games for my #1 hobby. I started learning how to code in 2012 using Scratch, then eventually widened my horizons in 2015 writing bots for friends' Discord servers. Now, I tend to work on any project that seems interesting to me such as browser-based analytical applications, public informational Discord bots and backend plugins for modified Minecraft servers. I'm always looking for new problems to tackle, as well as new libraries and languages to add to my arsenal.

Here's a list of languages and frameworks I am familiar with:

  • JavaScript (The majority of my work is done here, either in the browser or with Node.js)
  • Python
  • SQL (I mainly work with the PostgreSQL implementation)
  • C
  • C++
  • Web languages (HTML, CSS, Pug, Sass)
  • Bash
  • QBASIC/Freebasic
  • Visual Basic 6

On top of what I already know, I'm good at learning new languages and libraries for whatever project I'm working on. I tend to poke around in other languages (Java, Ruby and Go to name a few) in order to get a feel for their syntax should I need to use them later.

If you are interested in the work I am currently working on (or have completed recently), please visit my GitLab profile. For projects I have worked on in the past (which are most likely horribly-written and -formatted), check out my GitHub profile.

My Setup

My desktop and laptop computers are generally used for different purposes, so they have noticeably different setups.

My Desktop

  • AMD Ryzen 1600 3.2GHz 6-core CPU
  • EVGA Nvidia GTX 1070 6GB GPU
  • 16GB 2666MHz (overclocked) DDR4 Corsair Vengeance DRAM
  • MSI Tomahawk B350 Motherboard
  • WD Blue 250GB SSD
  • Seagate BarraCuda 4TB 5400RPM HDD
  • ASUS VG278Q 1080p 144Hz 1ms 27" Monitor
  • Cooler Master CK550 Mechanical Keyboard
  • Corsair M65 Gaming Mouse
  • Dual-boot Windows 10 (primary) and Arch Linux

My Laptop (ASUS ZenBook UX305CA)

  • Intel Core M 6Y30 0.8GHz 2-core CPU
  • 8GB 1600MHz DDR3 SDRAM
  • 256GB SSD
  • Dual Boot Arch Linux (primary) and Windows 10